Services

SUNDAY SERVICES


8am Every Sunday – Holy Communion

This is a short, usually half hour, very peaceful and traditional service without music.

10.00am - 1st, 3rd , 4th and 5th Sunday each month – Family Communion.  This is a traditional service with a contemporary edge.  We sing traditional hymns and modern Christian worship songs.  Coffee is served afterwards.

10.00am – 2nd Sunday each month – Family Service. This is a contemporary style of service for all ages.  We tend to sing more of the modern worship songs during this service.  There’s often an opportunity for the congregation to participate and always a short bit of teaching.  Coffee is served afterwards.


OTHER ACTIVITIES

WEDNESDAY LUNCHES simple, good value lunches are served every Wednesday from 12 noon to 1pm. There’s a bowl of soup, followed by a cold buffet (cold meats, quiche, salad etc) and a pudding, all for just £3.50 and with good company guaranteed.


ST.JOHN’S LADIES GUILD meets monthly on the second Monday of the month at 7.30pm. They follow a varied programme of events through the year including social occasions, services and meetings with a speaker.


STUDY GROUPS meet during the week at several times of year for prayer, study & fellowship. There are also regular groups for those wishing to explore the basic principles of the Christian faith.  Please see the calendar on our home page or contact the vicar.


MUSIC practices are on Thursday evenings, roughly fortnightly, at 7.30pm.


SCOUT AND GUIDE groups meet weekly in the Scout Hut.

FOR MORE INFORMATION CLICK HERE

Our Mission Statement


St. John's is here to be a living,  loving and serving witness to Christ; worshipping, learning and growing in our faith together, reaching out to share God's love in the community and bringing his Word to all.

“

Sharing Christ in the Community

ST JOHN’S  PRE SCHOOL

St Johns Pre-School has been offering the chance to learn through play for over thirty years.

ST JOHN’S SCHOOL

St John’s J & I is a Church of England voluntary aided school, a distinction of which we are proud.

ST AUSTIN’S

St. Austin's Church and  English Martyrs Church are now part of a new Catholic Parish of North Wakefield.

for more information
 ...CLICK HERE...http://www.stjohnspreschool.co.uk
for more information
 ...CLICK HERE...http://www.wakefieldstjohnscofeschool.co.uk
for more information
 ...CLICK HERE...http://www.stmartinswakefield.org/

CALENDAR...

Sun 8 Jul Trinity 6

8.00am Holy Communion

10.00am Family Service


Mon 9 Jul

7.30am Morning prayers


Tue 10 Jul

7.45pm PCC meeting


Wed 11 Jul

12 noon - 1.00pm Lunches served 

1.30pm Craft & Chat, Coffee & Cake


Thu 12 Jul

9.30am Toddler service


Sun 15 Jul Trinity 7

8.00am Holy Communion

10.00am Parish Communion with laying on of hands


Mon 16 Jul

7.30am Morning prayers


Wed 18 Jul

12 noon - 1.00pm Lunches served 

1.30pm Craft & Chat, Coffee & Cake

3.30 - 5.30pm Messy Church - fellowship, food & fun for 411 year olds with an adult companion


Sat 21 Jul

9.00 am (return about 6.00pm) - Coach trip to Whitby: sign-up sheet in church


Sun 22 Jul Trinity 8

8.00am Holy Communion

10.00am Parish Communion


Mon 23 Jul

7.30am Morning prayers


Tue 24 Jul

7.45pm Julian Meeting for contemplative prayer


Wed 25 Jul

12 noon - 1.00pm Lunches served 

1.30pm Craft & Chat, Coffee & Cake


Fri 27 Jul

7.00pm Taizé-style service


Sun 29 July Trinity 9

8.00am Holy Communion

10.00am Parish Communion


Mon 30 Jul

7.30am Morning prayers


Wed 1 Aug

12 noon - 1.00pm Lunches served 

1.30pm Craft & Chat, Coffee & Cake


Sun 5 Aug Trinity 10

8.00am Holy Communion

10.00am Parish Communion


Mon 6 Aug

7.30am Morning prayers


Wed 8 Aug

12 noon - 1.00pm Lunches served 

1.30pm Craft & Chat, Coffee & Cake


Sun 12 Aug Trinity 11

8.00am Holy Communion

10.00am Family Service


Mon 13 Aug

7.30am Morning prayers


Wed 15 Aug

12 noon - 1.00pm Lunches served 

1.30pm Craft & Chat, Coffee & Cake


Sun 19 Aug Trinity 12

8.00am Holy Communion

10.00am Parish Communion with laying on of hands


Mon 20 Aug

7.30am Morning prayers


Wed 22 Aug

12 noon - 1.00pm Lunches served 

1.30pm Craft & Chat, Coffee & Cake


Sun 26 Aug Trinity 13

8.00am Holy Communion

10.00am Parish Communion


Tue 28 Aug

7.45pm Julian Meeting for contemplative prayer


Wed 29 Aug

12 noon - 1.00pm Lunches served 

1.30pm Craft & Chat, Coffee & Cake


Fri 31 Aug

7.00pm Taizé-style service


Sun 2 Sep Trinity 14

8.00am Holy Communion

10.00am Parish Communion


Mon 3 Sep

7.30am Morning prayers


Wed 5 Sep

12 noon - 1.00pm Lunches served 

1.30pm Craft & Chat, Coffee & Cake


Fri 7 Sep

9.00 - 10.00 am Coffee for reception class parents


Sat 8 Sep

1.30 - 4.00pm Church open for Heritage Weekend – tours of tower & crypt, archive material, refreshments


Sun 9 Sep Trinity 15

8.00am Holy Communion

10.00am Family Service

1.30 - 4.00pm Church open for Heritage Weekend

4.00pm Heritage Songs of Praise – all welcome for a big sing


Mon 10 Sep

7.30am Morning prayers

7.30pm St John’s Guild – “A trip to Peru”


Tue 11 Sep

7.45pm PCC meeting


Wed 12 Sep

12 noon - 1.00pm Lunches served 

1.30pm Craft & Chat, Coffee & Cake


Sat 15 Sep

1.30 - 4.00pm Church open for Heritage Weekend

2.00 – 4.00pm Guild afternoon teas


Sun 16 Trinity 16

8.00am Holy Communion

10.00am Parish Communion with laying on of hands

1.30 - 4.00pm Church open for Heritage Weekend

JULY/AUGUST 2018